Galaxy Zoo Talk

Spectrally anomalous quasar?

• planetaryscience by planetaryscience

I am by no means a quasar expert, but this seems odd:

enter image description here

210.5381 +54.2740

The purple-ish object shows all signs of a quasar-like object, and yet is completely invisible in any infrared band- even far WISE bands. It's definitely an ultraviolet emitter, but I wonder why it's so dim in red bands.

Posted

• Budgieye by Budgieye moderator

Not much info, it might be a binary star blue+red

4.8 spectroscopic binary stars https://talk.galaxyzoo.org/#/boards/BGZ0000001/discussions/DGZ0000wrb?page=4

http://simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad/sim-id?Ident=SDSS+J140209.12%2B541626.2&QueryType=ned

http://ned.ipac.caltech.edu/cgi-bin/nph-objsearch?search_type=Near+Position+Search&in_csys=Equatorial&in_equinox=J2000.0&obj_sort=Distance+to+search+center&lon=210.5381d&lat=54.2740d&radius=1.0

http://skyserver.sdss.org/dr13/SkyServerWS/ImgCutout/getjpeg?TaskName=Skyserver.Chart.Image&ra=210.53812&dec=54.274&scale=0.1&width=512&height=512&opt=&query=

Posted

• planetaryscience by planetaryscience in response to Budgieye's comment.

Oh, I never thought about that! That looks like the best explanation here. Thanks, Budgieye.

Posted

• Ghost_Sheep_SWR by Ghost_Sheep_SWR

Some thoughts; it hasn't moved in ~60 years so that would have been a good indicator of a star. To me it is visible in 2MASS J+K band and DS2 IR (+Spitzer) so not entirely invisible in IR. As far as not visible in WISE goes; if it is a Quasar it would be behind the outskirts of NGC 5457 so I can imagine that would grealy interfere with the IR wavelenghts of WISE. Also a bright object nearby which can 'outshine' this object.

Don't know if it is a UV emitter (source?), colour could be just a blend as can happen with binaries mimicking 'UV colour'.

IRSA FINDER CHART

enter image description here

DECaLS SDSS NGC 5457 area, object centered on image