Galaxy Zoo Talk

What hashtags do I use ?

• Keco by Keco

I'm new to this project and just looking for a list of hashtags to use to support this subject. Thanks

Posted

• Budgieye by Budgieye moderator

Welcome to Galaxy Zoo, Keco. This version of Talk doesn't have a thesaurus of hashtags. I would suggest #edgeon #dustlane and possibly #bulgeless.

Posted

Maybe someone (Is there a librarian in the house?) could start an informal thesaurus of hastags, so that when we go to the next version of Talk, we will have some ready to go. Then we could avoid the problem of multiple spellings.

Posted

Soon, the hashtags should pop up when you start typing. In the meantime, here are some common tags

spiral

merger

starforming

overlap

disturbed

bar

ring

artifact

dustlane

edgeon
    irregular

starburst

barred

star

agn

ugc

elliptical

tidal

clumpy

What else can I think of?

nuclearring

doubledustlane EDIT double_dust

offaxisbar

quasar

pea (OIII galaxy)

lensarc (lensed galaxy)

lensquasar (lensed quasar)

buriedring

Posted

• jeffreyhrwtz by jeffreyhrwtz

Voorwerp, multiple_dustlanes. Part of the fun of classifying is going to the "discuss" page and seeing what others have observed!

Posted

• Ghost_Sheep_SWR by Ghost_Sheep_SWR

I'd start with the official GZ collections tags: https://talk.galaxyzoo.org/?_ga=1.244656832.476670387.1443719759#/boards/BGZ0000004/discussions/DGZ0000vv1

Official is double_dust btw.

NGC, asteroid, transient

Posted

Thank you Ghost Sheep, I should have remembered that.

EDIT

A collection of Collections! https://talk.galaxyzoo.org/?_ga=1.244656832.476670387.1443719759#/boards/BGZ0000004/discussions/DGZ0000vv1

NGC objects | Info | | CGZL00003q | #NGC

Zooniverse Galaxy of the Week (ZGOTW) | Info | CGZL00003t | #ZGOTW

Gravitational lensing | Info | CGZL00000h | #lens

UGC catalogue | Info | CGZL00003w | #UGC

Asteroids! | Info | CGZL00003x | #asteroid

Markaryan objects | Info | CGZL00003y | #MRK