Galaxy Zoo Talk

I like this one

• StephB by StephB

I find this really interesting. Let me know what you think. I'm new to all this.

Posted

• hamptongray23 by hamptongray23

Wow that is certainly interesting.

Posted

• JeanTate by JeanTate in response to StephB's comment.

Welcome to Galaxy Zoo, StephB and hamptongray23!

It's a star in our own galaxy, the Milky Way (or perhaps a pair of stars).

If you look at the zoomed-out field, you'll see it's (almost) all yellow/orange/red stars, near the very edge of the SDSS' coverage:

enter image description here

It would be highly unusual to find a galaxy here; we're looking through the plane of our own, which is choked with gas and dust (hence all the reds and oranges), blocking out the far universe (I'm a bit surprised this is even in the GZ database, for us zooites to classify; there's nothing here, so why are we wasting time?)

Happy hunting! šŸ˜ƒ

Posted

• Capella05 by Capella05 moderator in response to JeanTate's comment.

@JeanTate

Moderator mode on

I have noticed that the majority of your recent posts on Talk have been making veiled references to the GZ wasting volunteers time with bad images, artifact, star clusters etc... For the record, it is not a waste of time, every classification is important and forms an important part of the learning curve here at the Zooniverse.

If you have a problem with the images take it up privately with the science team. It is not necessary to try to negatively influence all the new volunteers, who would like a simple answer to an amazing object they have spotted.

Moderator mode off.

Posted

• zutopian by zutopian in response to Capella05's comment.

For the record, it is not a waste of time, every classification is important and forms an important part of the learning curve here at the Zooniverse.

Please be informed, that GZ astronomer Brooke aka vrooje did following comment on 22.05. in another discussion.: